quote me

2018 Blog

The 1975 "A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships" Standard & Coloured Vinyl

Key Production is pleased to have recently collaborated with Polydor Records to create the third studio album by English pop rock band The 1975

Winners of 2017’s Best British Group at the BRIT Awards, The 1975's A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships was produced by band members Matthew Healy and George Daniel. It is also the band's first album to not be produced by regular collaborator Mike Crossey. This release follows on from the band's second album, "I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful yet So Unaware of It".

There have been five singles released from this current album: "Give Yourself a Try", "Love It If We Made It", "TooTimeTooTimeTooTime", "Sincerity Is Scary" and "It's Not Living" (If It's Not with You). Since it's release on the 30th of November, this latest offering has debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart and across the Atlantic. The band is also slated to release a follow-up album in 2019 titled "Notes on a Conditional Form" in May.

"I don't want to say anything that'd make me sound pretentious, It's not necessarily like I'm pouring my heart out all of the time. The only thing I know is the more honest I am or the truer to myself, the more it resonates. I've learned to trust my instinct, as much as what I do, writing songs about 'love me' and all this, I've actually got a frail ego. I don't really believe I'm Jim Morrison, and that's always been a part of my thing." - Matt Healy 

The album has been released on:

  • Limited Edition White Double Vinyl LP
  • Limited Edition Clear Double Vinyl LP
  • Limited Edition Yellow Double Vinyl LP
  • Standard Black Double Vinyl LP

Eschewing the neon signs of previous albums, A Brief Inquiry features the band name, album title and track list, vertically placed on the cover. A minimalist graphic design based on pixelation accompanies the text. The "Music for Cars" initialisation "MFC" appears in the lower left corner of the cover and on the spine of the packaging. 

Who are The 1975?

The 1975 are an English pop rock band originating from Manchester. The band consists of lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist Matthew "Matty" Healy, lead guitarist Adam Hann, bassist Ross MacDonald, and drummer George Daniel. The band's origins trace to them attending Wilmslow High School in Cheshire and playing together as teenagers in 2002. Gigs organised by a council worker led the band to formally sign as The 1975. Their choice of name was inspired by a Jack Kerouac beat poetry book. They eventually signed a record deal after their success with Dirty Hit and Polydor Records.


1. “The 1975”
2. “Give Yourself a Try”
4. “How to Draw / Petrichor”
5. “Love It If We Made It”
6. “Be My Mistake”
7. “Sincerity Is Scary”
8. “I Like America & America Likes Me”
9. “The Man Who Married a Robot / Love Theme”
10. “Inside Your Mind”
11. “It’s Not Living If It’s Not With You”
12. “Surrounded by Heads and Bodies”
13. “Mine”
14. “I Couldn’t Be More in Love”
15. “I Always Wanna Die (Sometimes)”

The 1975: A brief inquiry into online relationships is now available to order here: Store.

Blog Archive