quote me

2019 Blog

Release of the Month: Mercury Rev "Bobbie Gentry's Delta Sweete Revisited" Vinyl

Key Production is excited to announce another collaboration with Bella Union to produce Mercury Rev's Bobbie Gentry's Delta Sweete Revisited on 12" black vinyl. 

Who is Bobbie Gentry? 

Bobbie Gentry is an American singer-songwriter and one of the first female artists to compose and produce her own material in the context of the post-war American music scene. Her Ode to Billie Joe song spent four weeks as the No.1 in 1967 and earned her a Grammy award. Gentry is considered an autobiographical songwriter thanks to the revelations and self-reflection characteristics of her music.

About the Album

Originally released in 1968, the eight original songs of the album were a depiction of Gentry's childhood and church life on her grandparents’ farm in Chickasaw County, Mississippi: the girl-ish craving for a beautiful dress in Reunion; the rise-and-shine of Mornin’ Glory; the stern Sunday lessons in Sermon based on a traditional hymn known as Run On.

The Mercury Rev's revisited release is an affectionate resurrection of Gentry's masterpiece, which is considered the first country-rock opera and was unforgivably ignored on arrival in 1968. The band is accompanied by a stellar vocal cast of women from across modern rock and its alternative paths: among them, Mazzy Star's Hope Sandoval; Laetitia Sadier, formerly of Stereolab; Marissa Nadler; Margo Price, the fiery new country star with a punk-rock heart; Norway's Susanne Sundfør and Phoebe Bridgers featured in Jessye' Lisabeth with her floating calm, like a comforting angel.


  1. Okolona River Bottom Band (featuring Norah Jones)
  2. Big Boss Man (featuring Hope Sandoval)
  3. Reunion (featuring Rachel Goswell)
  4. Parchman Farm (featuring Carice van Houten)
  5. Mornin' Glory (featuring Laetitia Sadier)
  6. Sermon (featuring Margo Pierce)
  7. Tobacco Road (featuring Susanne Sundfør)
  8. Penduli Pendulum( featuring Vashti Bunyan w/ Kaela Sinclair)
  9. Jessye' Lisabeth (featuring Phoebe Bridges)
  10. Refractions (featuring Marissa Nadler)
  11. Courtyard (featuring Beth Orton)
  12. Ode To Billie Joe (featuring Lucinda Williams)

Mercury Rev's Bobbie Gentry's Delta Sweete Revisited is now available to order here: Store

Blog Archive