quote me

2019 Blog

Rocket Girl Limited Edition 20th Anniversary Hardback Book

The year 2018 marked 20 years since one of the fundamental small independent labels in the UK music made its mark on the music industry. To celebrate this milestone, we collaborated with Rocket Girl to produce a special collection of music and literature in the form of a collectable and colourful hardback book titled Rocket Girl 20. We are really happy to have worked with Rocket Girl on the manufacturing of this iconic and memorable release.

The book’s text is written by Faber author and long-time Rocket Girl supporter Richard Milward. It begins with the backstory of the founder Vinita Joshi in her developmental years in Rugby (1970s and 1980s). Vinita’s story acts as the basis of this collection which solidifies the label’s legacy and its achievements to date. Rocket Girl 20 contains a collection of rare tracks and unheard stories for a comprehensive introduction to the label for the unfamiliar and backstory of an inspirational series of events concerning the history of British independent music in the past thirty years.

"The artists Vinita has worked with over the years are undisputed luminaries of alternative music, and stand up to any major indie label’s roster: Spacemen 3, The Telescopes, Bark Psychosis, Disco Inferno, Lilys, Low, Bardo Pond, Mogwai, Cocteau Twins’ Robin Guthrie, My Bloody Valentine’s Kevin Shields, Patti Smith, Jonathan Richman and Television Personalities." - Richard Milward (Author)

Designer and past collaborator Xiaofei Zhang has been given access to Vinita’s vast collection of personal photographs, letters, flyers, press clippings and other keepsakes, arranging these alongside the text to give the book the feel of a technicolour scrapbook, a vivid chronicle of indie music past, present and future.

We worked with Rocket Girl to produce various formats for the Rocket Girl 20 which includes:

  • 16-track CD compilation of Vinita’s artists past and present
  • Collectable 7” Vinyl and flexi disc
  • Exclusive Anthony Ausgang print
  • 70-page hardback book uncovering the history of the label


  1. Silver Apples 'Susie'(Rocket Mix)
  2. A Place to Bury Strangers 'A Million Tears'
  3. Mogwai 'Fight For Work
  4. Robin Guthrie 'Flicker'
  5. Bardo Pond 'Out of Nowhere'
  6. Television Personalities 'All Coming Back'
  7. Kirk Lake 'Go Ask Adorno'
  8. Pieter Nooten 'I Want You'
  9. Azusa Plane 'Pop World'
  10. Anthony Reynolds and Rhosyn Boyce-Jones 'Losers Like Us Take The Bus'
  11. P.S. I Love You 'The Sun, The Sea, And The Song'
  12. Jon DeRosa 'Golden Dawn'
  13. Coldharbourstores 'Seven Minutes'
  14. Bell Gardens 'Might Be You'
  15. July Skies 'Swallows and Swifts II'
  16. White Ring 'Heavy'
  17. Fuxa 'Sun is Shining' (Congo Hammer Remix)
  18. Andrew Weatherall ‘Cosmonautrix’
  19. God is an Astronaut 'Reverse World' (quiet)
  20. Transient Waves 'D jam'

Rocket Girl Limited Edition 20th Anniversary Hardback Book has been released and is available to buy on the Rocket Girl Website.

Facebook | Twitter

Blog Archive